top of page

Chakras 101: What are they and why should you care?

Updated: Mar 15, 2019

Ever wonder why sometimes you feel like you're "in the flow" while other times you feel stuck or disconnected? Perhaps you feel in touch with or detached from your body? When it comes to your health, are you feeling optimal, or are you plagued by illnesses / ailments? The answer lies within.

Our physical bodies contain concentrated spirals of energy known as “chakras.”

Chakras are described as energy nodes. The word “chakra” is Sanskrit for “wheels of light.” There are seven main chakras that interact with the body’s endocrine glands and lymphatic system. Chakras represent our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health. They’re fundamental when it comes to holistic healing.

Each chakra is related to specific characteristics. When your chakras are open, you're aligned and balanced. 1. Root Chakra: “To be/have” | Element: Earth | Location: Base of spine | Physical identity | Self-Preservation | Colour: Red | Developed between birth and 7 years of age

This chakra is related to our foundation, which includes our survival instincts and our connection to our bodies and physical world. When this chakra is open, you feel grounded with determination, bringing forth good health, prosperity and security. 2. Sacral Chakra: “To feel/want” | Element: Water | Emotional Identity | Self-gratification | Location: In the abdomen, lower back, sexual organs | Colour: Orange | Developed between 7 and 14 years of age

This chakra involves our connection to others through feeling, desire, and movement. An open chakra enables sexual expression, the ability to create, and creates a balance between connecting with others and time alone.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra: “To act” | Element: Fire | Ego Identity | Self-definition | Location: In the solar plexus | Colour: Yellow | Developed between 14 and 21 years of age

This chakra pertains to will power, autonomy and metabolism. When this chakra is open, its easier to build personal power, confidence and identity.

4. Heart Chakra: “To love/be loved” | Element: Air | Social Identity | Self-acceptance | Location: In the heart | Colour: Green | Developed between 21 and 28 years of age

This chakra is related to love for ourselves and others. When this chakra is open, it's easier to love deeply, experience inner peace, and feel compassion.

5. Throat Chakra: “To speak/be heard” | Element: Sound | Creative Identity | Self-expression | Location: In the thyroid gland | Colour: Blue | Developed between 28 and 35 years of age

This chakra relates to communication and expression. An open chakra enables you to speak your truth, and express yourself fully.

6. Third Eye Chakra: “To perceive” | Element: Light | Archetypal Identity | Self-reflection | Location: Center of forehead | Colour: Indigo | Developed between 35 and 42 years of age

This chakra relates to being able to see, physically/intuitively. It also taps into your psychic ability and mental activity. When this chakra is open, it allows you to see clearly, allowing you to see the big picture. 7. Crown Chakra: “To know” | Element: Thought | Universal Identity | Self-knowledge | Location: Top of head | Colour: White/Violet. | Developed between 42 and 49 years of age

This chakra involves consciousness, greater awareness and your connection to the world within, as well as beyond which you cannot see. An open crown chakra garners knowledge, wisdom, understanding and divine connection.

50 views0 comments


bottom of page